Diet, Exercise, Ketosis, Macronutrients

How to Get Started on a Ketosis Diet

I know last post I said was going to get into who inspired me to jump back into calisthenics, but I’ve been getting asked this question a lot lately. We can save my motivation for next week. Let’s make things a little easier for those who don’t know where to start.

There are a few methods of approach that you can take to begin, but I’ll give you three steps that kind of summarize what I did so that maybe it’s easier for you.

1. Do Research. I didn’t just jump right into keto. In fact, I probably researched it for a couple months before I started. During that time, I read about benefits and risks alike, what to expect when starting, different databases with recipes, you name it. There’s a lot of good places to get information about keto from besides me. I’m just one person so it’s possible for me to miss a question that’s out there. If you like blog sites and forums, then I would say your best bets are probably the ketosis section of Reddit and bodybuilding.com for starters.

2. Find Some Easy Recipes. The thing that scared me the most about starting keto is that you pretty much have to prepare all of your food yourself and I sucked at cooking, or at least plan your meals in advance. That’s especially true when you’re first starting out, anyway. The meal plan I actually started with was Caveman Keto’s 7 Day Meal Plan, and it did wonders for me. I was actually getting FULL from ~1800 calories a day with his plan. If I ever fall off the keto bandwagon for whatever reason, I’ll definitely use this system again. Another place where I found awesome recipes that were fairly easy was Linda’s Low Carb Menus and Recipes. I like her site because she actually tries the recipes herself and will rate them based on a star system. Then she actually explains why she gave them the rating she did. Very useful.

3. Get Started! There might be others that warn you not to try ketosis because it’s dangerous or unhealthy for whatever reasons they can conjure up. Some of these people might even be “experts”, such as doctors or nutritionalists. Don’t be discouraged by ignorance though. If you can’t find people that support you in your personal life, then there’s a huge community of “ketoers” online, especially on the sites I mentioned earlier on. If you’ve tried everything else like juicing, water fasting, and the Master Cleanse or whatever it’s called without seeing sustained results, then this is probably the best route for you. I know it has been for me.

Hey listen, I’m not a health expert nor do I claim to be. And I don’t advise anyone to take my posts as gospel. I guess what I’m trying to say is to do your due diligence and see if this is right for you. I couldn’t be happier with the results I’m getting, and it’s all without pills, ridiculously tiring exercise programs and restricted diets. The only thing I do is avoid carbs as much as possible while eating delicious combinations of protein and fat to achieve my goals. I hope you’re able to find a system that works for you, and that you actually take a step towards the healthier new you.

– Veezy

Standard

Leave a Reply

