Diet, Ketosis, Macronutrients

Keto Side Effects and Myths

Before I get into this post, I just want to wish everybody a Happy 4th of July!! I hope you get to pop fireworks without getting arrested and all that good stuff. So now back to business…

Every good thing can’t come without consequences, am I right? The same applies to ketosis. The good news, though, is that most of these side effects are temporary and usually subside once you’ve been doing it for a week or so.

First, let’s start with the negative side effects. I like getting the bad news first, because then you can look forward to the good news. Here is a list of negative side effects from ketosis as follows:

1. Frequent urination
2. Fatigue and dizziness
3. Reactive hypoglycemia
4. Constipation
5. Sugar cravings
6. Headaches
7. Diarrhea
8. Shakiness or weakness
9. Muscle cramps
10. Sleep disturbances
11. Kidney stones

Out of that list, I’ve only experienced a few symptoms. Namely the fatigue, sugar cravings, and muscle cramps. Once I learned how to rectify those issues though, I don’t have those problems anymore. The only thing I occasionally experience now is fatigue, but that’s because I work at a job that involves a lot of manual labor. Plus its at nighttime on the graveyard shift, so I don’t even think that counts. If you’d like to see detailed explanations of each negative side effect and the remedy, please check out the Ketogenic Diet Resource.

For the dispelling of the more popular ketosis myths, you can also take a look at this portion of the website for a detailed list. Some of the ones I personally see often are:

1. Ketosis causes osteoporosis (wow, really?)
2. Ketosis clogs your arteries (actually, my blood pressure has been noticeably lower since starting)
3. Ketosis weight loss is majority water (carbs retain a lot of water so this has a really slight ring of truth, but I’ve definitely dropped over 10% body fat since I started)
4. Ketosis diets don’t have any fiber (you serious? I specifically eat foods with high fiber because grams of carbs from fiber don’t count toward your daily limit)

Anyway, I hope you found this article informative. I’ll finally be moving on to introducing the calisthenics side of this blog and why I feel that those types of exercises are essential.

– Veezy

Standard

Leave a Reply

