Diet, Ketosis, Macronutrients

Why Ketosis? (Part 3)

This is the last installment of this series, and I’ll be moving on to something else next post. So we’re back, and we’re still going strong with this whole keto explanation thing. Here’s what I’ll start off with today.

Remember last post, and I said that ketosis is when your body switches from burning glucose (sugar) for energy to burning body fat instead? Well let’s talk about macronutrients for a second.

“You may have heard about food being separated into 3 MACRONUTRIENT groups: 1) Carbohydrates, 2) Fats, and 3) Proteins. Dieticians recommend that 55-65% of your daily caloric intake should be from carbohydrates, 25-30% from fat, and 10-15% from protein.”
from bewell-dowell.org

But here’s the problem I have with that excerpt. Who made that rule? And why are statements such as these just accepted as common knowledge by everyone, including me at one point? While I think it’s ok if someone follows this diet plan, I don’t agree with it anymore. Not for me, anyway.

In ketosis, the general rule for the macronutrients is something like 65% fat, 30% protein, and 5% carbohydrates. So basically high fat, moderate protein, and minimal carbs. Depending on your body composition goal and current weight, the amount of grams from each macro can differ greatly. Remember now, a gram of carbs or protein both equal 4 calories. A gram of fat equals 9 calories. You can see why people are so scared of fat, right?

“Yeah ok Veezy, thanks for the vocabulary terms or whatever, but could you get to the point? Preferably in layman’s??”

Sure. My daily macro breakdown when I first started ketosis looked something like this :
– 145g fat
– 150g protein
– 20g carbohydrates

“Omg Veezy, how the hell could you survive off just 20g of carbs a day?? You ain’t get tired? What about bread and rice tho?? Did u dead??”

That’s for next post, when I go over side effects of keto, both internal and external. For now, I’m going to summarize why I started keto with the following: it is cost efficient, easy to maintain, results are achieved quickly, it uses body fat as fuel, it spares muscle mass from being used as energy, and I’ve never felt better. On top of that, I’m now starting to match how I feel with how I look. So you ask why keto? That’s why.

– Veezy

Standard

Leave a Reply

