Diet, Ketoacidosis, Ketosis

Why Ketosis? (Part 2)

Before I begin, I just wanted to reiterate that I’m new to this site and still figuring things out. So what I’m saying is if you see some weird activity on this blog in the next couple weeks, it’s just me experimenting with the different features and getting comfortable with the blog. Without further ado, let’s get into it.

In my last post, I kind of got into what ketosis was and how it differs from ketoacidosis, right? So I guess it’s time for me to finally explain “why ketosis”.

Well it’s simple, really. It’s the only thing I’ve tried for weight loss that’s easy and actually works.

Here’s a couple fun facts about me. I’m “hovering” around 5’9, and I weigh 252 lbs. the last time I checked. Now that sounds like a lot for a guy my height which it is because I’m not delusional, and I know some of you are now reconsidering your decision to follow this blog.

But easy killer, easy. Let me finish. The heaviest weight I’ve seen on the scale is 334 lbs. And it could have actually been more than that. In fact, in February of this year, I weighed a little over 300 lbs. So you can do the math and see how effective this has been for me so far in the timeframe I’ve been doing it.

On top of that, I’m not necessarily restricted on what I eat. I still eat burgers (yes, from McDonalds, Wendy’s, jack in the Box, etc.), bacon, whole scrambled eggs, sausage, pepperoni, all kinds of cheese, fried chicken, and the list goes on.

What do all those things have in common? They’re high in fat and are usually considered “unhealthy” and detrimental to weight loss efforts by the general community. So how does it seem to work for me so well?

To explain it simply, ketosis is when your body stops burning glucose in your body and turns to other sources. One is protein/muscle mass, and the other is body fat. Everyone tries to burn body fat in order to achieve visible muscles and that beach body look.

From my experience, “food pyramid” dieting is a painful process. We have to eat rabbit food, we have to eliminate everything from our diet that tastes good and delude ourselves into thinking wheat grass shots are delicious, we have to do large amounts of “moderate cardio” to achieve the “primary fat burning zone”, and all this for an advised maximum of 2 lbs. a week for weight loss.

Now I’m not saying I’m against people that follow that strict regimen of eating. Actually, I applaud them because they have more willpower than me. But why am I able to drop weight so quickly, eat foods that are taboo, and still retain most of my muscle mass?

Well I’ll tell you…but not this post. I feel like I’m running a bit long, so next time I’ll explain what key component I cut out to achieve my success so far.

Standard

Leave a Reply

